Discuss 17th Edition in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

W

windies17

Hi folks

need a wee bit of advice, I've been working as a sparks mate, on and off for a few years, I've decided to take the plunge and my 17th edition next month.

My question - A guy I worked with suggested doing PAT testing, I am not sure it would be worth my while. Any suggestions

Hi folks

need a wee bit of advice, I've been working as a sparks mate, on and off for a few years, I've decided to take the plunge and my 17th edition next month.

My question - A guy I worked with suggested doing PAT testing, I am not sure it would be worth my while. Any suggestions

Not really...imo PAT is not worthwhile as there are firms out there that are willing to do it for pittance.

PAT testing was one of the courses I taught (I retired the other day from training a large DNO), but to be honest, apart from one marine research centre near Oban, all the courses I ran in recent years were for in-house electricians doing testing for their own businesses. I get the impression that most of the major contracts for PAT are dealt with by large companies who don't exactly pay top dollar to their guys. Inspection & testing, while tougher courses, seem to be better from the point of view of making a living. Of course, i haven't worked out there in the real world for many years, these are just impressions I get from guys that I've trained.

Cheers for the reply. I asked my gaffer what he thought of me doing it and he said I was a complete numpty if I was considering it. I cant use foul languge but numpty == bellend