Discuss 240v car ramp motor issue in the Canada area at ElectriciansForums.net

J

john_rdy

hi everyone

First and foremost id like to apologise, I am not an electrician I just would like a bit of your knowledge if any of you can help id be iternally thankful.

I recently bought a 2 post car ramp that's single phase, not modifed to be but is actually made as a single phase ramp. Made in 1988 by and english firm and is screw post.

I'm struggling to find a motor for it. The motor that's on it is a 2hp 1.5kw. So I bought one from machine mart, same rating. Only to find that yes it can go forwards and reverse but you have to have it wired for one or the other. If I put a car on it and wire it to the up, it really struggles and the motor actually stops with the car a foot off the ground! I called out a ramp engineer and he told me clarke motors are chinese c@@p and not worth anything and I needed to buy off him a £400 motor

Is this the case? Do these motors have a special name where they can be switched between the two?

I have the old motor bit someone has cut the wires and capacitors and now I have no idea how to fit them back on or which order they go in

Thanks in advance

John

he's right about the clarke motors, but £400 is steep. to get it reversing requires control gear. you would have an up button and a down button. really needs an electrician on the job. i have a contact for motors, sensible price at ruabon, welsh border. a 3hp is around £120.

he's right about the clarke motors, but £400 is steep. to get it reversing requires control gear. you would have an up button and a down button. really needs an electrician on the job. i have a contact for motors, sensible price at ruabon, welsh border. a 3hp is around £120.