Posting a message to the forum will remove the above advertisement

Discuss 3 phase up the one conduit in the Commercial Electrical Talk area at ElectrciansForums.co.uk.

Please make sure you checkout our forum sponsors, many do discounts for members and, they keep the forum free to use.
  1. eleclio
    Offline

    eleclio EF Member

    Location:
    Scotland
    I've got 3 roof fans to be wired from 3 spurs fitted on the inside concrete ceiling. They shall be controlled from 3 ground level fan controllers. Supply to the 3 controllers is via 3 conduit drops off the trunking.
    My question is, can I run all 3 phases in the one conduit to the spurs (4 control-wires for each).
    Up at ceiling level I intend to tube to a Tee-box, to Tee-box then to an Angle-box, then fit the spurs to the conduit boxes thereby removing the possible risk of 415v at each spur outlet.
     
  2. Pete999
    Offline

    Pete999 Trusted Advisor

    Location:
    Northampton
    Are you an Electrician, eleclio?
     
    • Agree Agree x 2
  3. Rpa07
    Offline

    Rpa07 2000 posts - only 46379 behind Telectrix! Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    Bristol
    Business Name:
    Ebenezer electrical
    Yes he is @Pete999@Pete999 but has not filled in his profile - 2 points deducted! Carry on!
    This from 2012


     
    • Funny Funny x 1
  4. Pete999
    Offline

    Pete999 Trusted Advisor

    Location:
    Northampton
    Only 2 points, should be hung drawn and quartered, waiting to hear from him Rpa
     
    • Like Like x 2
    • Creative Creative x 1
  5. westward10
    Offline

    westward10 In echoed steps I walk across an empty dream. Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    Northamptonshire
    Why do you think you can't contain all lines within a single conduit.
     
  6. eleclio
    Offline

    eleclio EF Member

    Location:
    Scotland
    I know I fit 3 phases down conduits to switches and clearly mark them with 440v signage, but I tend plan a job to install other items (spurs, sockets etc) down their own conduit avoiding mixed phases. The spurs shall be mounted approx. 7mts above the ground with a 3mt spacing between. If I can now wire up the same conduit with different phases, how should I indicate 440v potential in the conduits, or do I just ignore this signage.
     
  7. Pete999
    Offline

    Pete999 Trusted Advisor

    Location:
    Northampton
    Do you stick 400v signs on the trunking you use as well?
     
  8. westward10
    Offline

    westward10 In echoed steps I walk across an empty dream. Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    Northamptonshire
    There is no requirement to put notices on conduits.
     
  9. eleclio
    Offline

    eleclio EF Member

    Location:
    Scotland
    400v signs on the trunking, what a good idea. Thanks Westward10.
    Anyone know where in the regs it indicate this ?
     
    • Disagree Disagree x 2
  10. eleclio
    Offline

    eleclio EF Member

    Location:
    Scotland
    I'll re-word my previous reply.
    Pete999, 400v signs on the trunking, what a good idea.............
    Also thanks Westward10 for an answer to my original question.

    Now, does anyone know where in the regs it indicate no signage is required for 440v running conduits ?
     
  11. westward10
    Offline

    westward10 In echoed steps I walk across an empty dream. Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    Northamptonshire
    See Reg 514.10.1
     
  12. 7029 dave
    Offline

    7029 dave Trusted Advisor

    Location:
    bedfordshire
    Think about it, its containment, could even be in trunking, would you label .?
     
  13. westward10
    Offline

    westward10 In echoed steps I walk across an empty dream. Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    Northamptonshire
    Plus the nominal voltage will not exceed 230v.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  14. telectrix
    Offline

    telectrix Scouser and Proud of It Trusted Advisor

    Top Poster Of Month

    Location:
    cheshire/staffordshire
    Business Name:
    Telectrix
    if the nominal voltage Phase - E does not exceed 230V, no signage required.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  15. Matthewd29
    Offline

    Matthewd29 EF Member

    Location:
    Belfast
    Yea and you don't need to sticker the conduit or trunking
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - phase conduit Forum Date
3 phase Isolator in series Industrial Electrician Talk Monday at 7:40 AM
Quick Question Old 3 Phase Install Electrical Forum Sunday at 7:54 AM
Question regarding 400V three phase lighting connected in Delta, without Neutral. Commercial Electrical Talk Jul 29, 2017
RCD protection on 3 phase sockets/18th edition Electrical Forum Jul 18, 2017
crabtree c50 3 phase mcb Electrical Forum Jul 11, 2017
Phase 3 is importing! Phase 1&2 are exporting as usual. Hyrdoelectric Power Forum Jun 29, 2017

Share This Page

  • Electricians Directory Post a Domestic Job Post a Commercial Job