Discuss 3ah, 4ah or 5ah? in the Electrical Tools and Products area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

HappyHippyDad

-
Esteemed
Arms
Reaction score
Evening all.

My friend has asked me if he should buy 3, 4 or 5 Ah makita batteries. All my batteries are 3Ah so I do not feel equipped to answer him as I have no experience of the others.

I am completely happy with the 3Ah ones, however what do you guys think?

Is it better to have the 5Ah as they last longer? Do they actually have a longer or shorter life expectancy? Do they take much longer to charge? Are they really necessary?

Cheers all.

It's pretty simple HHD, 5ah are more expensive, but have a longer run time than 3 & 4. So if your using your cordless tool all day, without access to charging, the higher the AH the better.

I can charge a 5aH and drain it in less than a day easy, I find charging multiple 3Ah batteries and swapping them to be good,
cost wise you can get:

2 3Ah batteries for £83
1 5Ah battery for £70

(Prices from amazon and may change by the time someone from the future is reading this)

As stated previously, it all depends on use. My radio can last at least a week on a 5Ah, but my circular saw drains them a lot faster.

Brushless drills / tools save battery life as there are no carbon brushes causing friction on the motors.

5Ah takes around 50 mins give or take depending on how dead it was.
3Ah takes around 25-30 mins depending on how dead it was.

Can't comment for 4Ah as I don't have any.

Evening all.

My friend has asked me if he should buy 3, 4 or 5 Ah makita batteries. All my batteries are 3Ah so I do not feel equipped to answer him as I have no experience of the others.

I am completely happy with the 3Ah ones, however what do you guys think?