Discuss Additional protection by means of RCDs in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Hi,

I'm an electrical apprentice and was just wondering if anyone could explain additional protection using RCD's?

Thanks
Do you have a copy of BS7671 the big yellow book?
Reg 411.3.3 Additional protection

Hi mate. Have you tried Google? Lots of knowledge there.
Is there something specific you would like to know and that is why your are asking the forum?

Hi mate. Have you tried Google? Lots of knowledge there.
Is there something specific you would like to know and that is why your are asking the forum?
I think the OP is/was just trying to understand the meaning, I could be wrong but that's my take on the question.

Worth keeping it at Home for times just like this one
I don't think he means he has his own personal copy. He is an Apprentice, and I take it he means that he has access to a copy at the training centre when he needs it but doesn't personally own a copy.

Hi,

I'm an electrical apprentice and was just wondering if anyone could explain additional protection using RCD's?

Thanks
Danny try and get access to the Trainee area, not sure what the criteria is, plenty of knowledgeable people/Mentors there only to willing to help, plus you won't get any mickey taking, however daft the question may seen to you, give it a try.

I don't think he means he has his own personal copy. He is an Apprentice, and I take it he means that he has access to a copy at the training centre when he needs it but doesn't personally own a copy.
Yes mate you probably are correct, from catching from some of the replies, that's how I read the situation, I don't use my copy much now I am retired, but reluctant to give it away as I like to have a quite read sometimes, just to exercise my brain once in a while, Red Wine permitting that is.

Just a bit of info from the regs.

411.3.3 Additional protection