Discuss Any issues with replacing accessories for neighbour? in the Electrical Wiring, Theories and Regulations area at ElectriciansForums.net

L

LandAhoy

Hi all,
1st time poster here, possibly a daft question and sorry for the long post but I like to make sure I'm by the book in these situations.

A neighbour has asked me to change some light switches, socket face plates and possibly a kitchen light fitting (all like for like changes with no additional wiring) unfortunately I agreed to this when I generally avoid any sort of homers like the plague.

Basically my background is that I used to work as a marine electrician in the shipbuilding industry but have never actually worked in the domestic sector so I am not familiar with the exact requirements to undertake this sort of work which is why I'm asking about this. I assume my background (electrical apprenticeship, 10 yrs working in marine sector, 17th edition, electrical engineering degree) means I am "competent" to carry out the work. I cannot remember off hand if I did any sort of part P stuff when I did the 17th edition.

My basic understanding is that this type of work is not notifiable under part p, does not need a minor work cert and could basically be done by any component person but I'd like to clarify this.

Basically what I want to know is
1. Am I suitably qualified to do the work (ie is there any additional qualifications or being registered with sjib for example that is required)

2. Is there any specific certification or testing I need to document for it.