Discuss Beginners guide to home automation in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

D

DavidWick

Newbie here so go easy please!

Am working on a new build that will be more high end then im used too! they are having the touch screen control panels in each room to control lights, heating & whatever else they choose (believe they are using Phillips dynalite range)

The spec, cables etc is being designed by an AV company, I will just be running cables for them.

I have to be honest though I have NO understanding of very basic wiring process as to how my feeds/switch lines are run when these touch screens are used, at some point i assume I have to wire via a patch panel/control module and then say cat6 to touch screen, but at what point? for example on a lighting circuit is it still mcb - to light and switch line goes back to AV cupboard - then cat6 back to touch screen switch? or am I way off and over complicating it??

Im sure I could just ask AV company but id at least like to understand very basic wiring process before job starts so please any help would be appreciated.

Thanks

If you are running cables for a 3rd party, I would ask them to clarify what types of cable and where they run from and too.

Guess and get it wrong will cost you loads.

As above. Any specified job should be laid out for you to install. Any questions should be referenced to the designer in the first instance. They would also be best able to answer your questions about the basics of how their system works.

That's my worry, but there seems to be a delay from there end getting plans etc so id like to run at least feeds and links for down-lights. its more just to understand the step by step ie consumer unit to light or consumer unit to din rail module then to light ... so I at least show signs of understanding when we eventually discuss it!