Discuss Best Way To Ground Rf Energy From Ethernet Network in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Reaction score
I'm not an electrician, but I am looking for some advise on the best way to drain a shielded CAT6A ethernet network in a UK house built in 1989.

I need to drain the RF energy at one end. I have finished installing in excess of 500m of CAT6A and every cable save for one goes to two CAT6A patch panels which have a small 30cm detachable ground cable designed for use in commercial environments with racks and grounding systems.

The network is in the loft, except for the drops to the sockets. It is easy for me to run a drain cable about 20 metres from the patch panels to the ceiling of the garage directly above the electrical board.

I would appreciate any advise on whether I can use the house grounding system. If this is possible I will get an electrician to do the work at the board.
Best Way To Ground Rf Energy From Ethernet Network 60.JPG - EletriciansForums.net

To keep things simple I would be tempted to purchase an esd type grounding plug- a 13A plug which is fitted with a grounding post and which is normally used for grounding wrist straps etc. in an ESD sensitive environment. Crimp a ring terminal on to your earth lead coming from the patch panel and connect it to this. No risk, nothing to disconnect, simples. Daz