Discuss Bosch Laser Level Un-Repairable in the Electrical Tools and Products area at ElectriciansForums.net

Midwest

-
Esteemed
Arms
Reaction score
Just posting this because I'm a bit hacked off, and might give people food for thought when considering buying a Bosch product. I purchased a Bosch GLL 2-50 Cross Line Laser Level. Worked perfectly (and still does), until I knocked it over on it's tripod stand, and cracked the horizontal glass lens. I decided to get it fixed and calibrated as well. It was returned to Bosch via my local dealer. They returned it with a label saying 'This tool is un-repairable and is unsafe to operate'. Now I'm no engineer, but the damaged glass doesn't make the laser dangerous, and the dealer checked the levels and it's fine. They phoned Bosch and could get no further explanation as to what is wrong with it and why it's un-repairable. The thing is just over a year old, and surely is not destined for the bin. I've emailed Bosch and gone on their forum, but received no response. Not very good service.

i dropped my chalk line last week. no damage, but think it needs recalibrating. or is that re-chalking?

I have had issues with the level (pun intended!) of service from Bosch before. They are either complacent or under staffed I would guess. I have a lot of Bosch gear and their service has put me off a bit. Though saying that I have only ever had one problem with one bit of their kit.

I got a Bosch laser too. Not used it a great deal, but I find it gives me a bit of a head ache every time after I have used it. So not so keen on the things really.

The level is still.......level, just wanted to replace the small bit of glass. Wouldn't think it would be so difficult.

Mid, I guess the warranty is no more now if Bosch are being crap about it. So can't you take it apart carefully and see if you could put a bit of perspex in maybe. Got nothing to lose really. Annoying though mate.