Discuss BS7671 & Fire Safety Building Control Approved in the Electrical Wiring, Theories and Regulations area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Reaction score
Hi, Just need some advice.

bs7671 Says about cabling above head height, in ceilings etc. must be in tray above route of escape......

So if you come across cabling which isn't in tray or tied up or Round band up - would you leave it or fix it?

Does it say anything about what you need to use to tie up, are cable ties sufficient or does it have to be round band?

(I am not an electrician BTW)

It actually says cables installed in escape routes shall be supported against premature collapse in the event of a fire. Non metallic cable support systems must not be used as the sole means of support.
So metallic containment systems such as trunking and tray/basket, metallic tie wraps and fixings/supports would satisfy the regulations.

so would pvc mini trunking or flexible trunking with steel saddles or steel tie wraps. As Mr. Westword10 said what are you doing?
Pvc conduit with metallic saddles would do but if it's on show below a false ceiling as it where it doesn't look very pretty in my opinion.
Pvc trunking with those metallic clips inside (forgot the name) fitted round the cables would also do.
Never heard of flexible trunking tho or do you mean flexi duct?

Given the recent tower fire in london and the current evacuation of residents in other buildings due to fire safety issues. i am fully expecting in the next year or two to see a complete rewrite of fire safety regs from the obvious building compliance issues down to the types of clips, routing of cables etc.. The rules may or may not already be adequate but there will be a new need for documentation and accountability.