Discuss central heating systems help! in the Central Heating Systems area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

VoltzElectrical

-
Esteemed
Reaction score
I have no experience in the installation or fault finding of, central heating systems.

I don't do, and have rarely done, domestic work.

I volunteered recently to look at an elderly lady's situation whereby the system had been installed, then altered as the room stat was relocated from the garage (causing the heating to come on more than was necessary) to the other side of the wall into the kitchen. Since the alteration, apparently the cylinder stat no longer works correctly so the hot water is scalding.

I opened up the 10 way junction box (double back box with blanking plate) to find a rats nest with nothing labelled.

I put the cover back on and said I would research it.

TBH I am going to tell her to get someone in who has experience with heating systems as I don't want to get into something I have no experience in.

My question is - where is a good source of information on the different types of heating systems? I have all the Honeywell wiring diagrams, but I feel I need to start with the basics. I couldn't even establish what 'system' was installed in the property, although from the diagrams I suspect 'S Plan'.

What does 'S Plan' or any of the others even mean? Who decides the allocation of a lettering system of the types of 'plan' ? Is there a logic to it?

I understand that it's a 'call system' but other than that I would like to further my learning if nothing else than I like to learn. I have come through a learning system that has not covered this area.

If anyone could direct me to a learning resource other than the Honeywell schematics, and by this I mean BASIC (lol) I would be grateful.

Voltz.