Discuss Changing ceiling rose in a new build house in the Electrical Wiring, Theories and Regulations area at ElectriciansForums.net

D

Daniel Morgan

Hi all sorry if this is the wrong section, im currently studying to become and electrician and so far learned the basics. A friend of mine has asked if i can change his bathroom and on suite light. Each bathroom he wants light changing has a extractor fan as well wired to the lights. Looked at the current wiring arrangement to see how it had been wired in since the house was built. Below is a pic of what he has at the moment, plus instructions for the new light.

Based on the above this is how i was going to approach the job but wanted a second opinion from the pros.

New light

Line from light ---------- both switch line wires identified with a brown sleeve (black wire with brown sleeve and blue wire with brown sleeve)

Earth/CPC from light ------------ All cpc wires from all looms

Neural from light -------------- both single blue wires and the gray cable with the blue sleeve (identified as the neutral)

4th terminal blank from light side ----------- all brown cables into this one terminal

If the above arrangement is correct are we likely to come across any issues or over current? As with mounting the unit to the ceiling will it just be self tap screws straight into the ceiling?

Thanks

You may come across an issue getting a good termination on four conductors in one of those terminals so you may be better off fitting short tails in to them and using a better connector on the other end.

To be honest I would consider a joint xternal to the fitting and a heat resistant flex run into the fitting itself if I was doing that.

I would however suggest that if you are at an early stage in your apprenticeship that you don't yet have confidence in this then it would be best to ask your friend to wait a while until you do, or get your apprenticeship mentor to advise you as they will best know your ability at this stage.