Discuss Clamp Meters? in the Commercial Electrical Advice area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

N

non-sparky

Hi people

I have a Rolson 1000 Amps Digital Clamp Meter. I'm not an electrician and hoped for some simple advice.

What I expected to happen was when I put the clamp jaws around a cable I would see a value in Amps. But anything I clamp always comes up 0.00. There is a "lock" button so you can lock the values on screen but this is off. I have tried everything from a kettle lead to a input on a distribution board.

I have tried all of the settings on the dial but I get nothing. The battery is new and the digital display does work, and when you switch the setting dial around the numbers do come up and then settle to 0.00 again.

Am I using the wrong tool or am I using it incorrectly? The cable goes through the loop and the loop closes on itself right??

Thanks for the advice

P

Hi,

Yep you are using it wrong!!!

Ok, when current travels down a cable, a magnetic field surrounds it, proportional to the amount of current flowing.

The clamp meter contains a Hall effect chip, which, in lay mans terms, is a magnetic field dependent semi-conductor.

This measures the magnetic field, around the cable, and converts it to a reading on your meter.

However, the current travelling down the phase conductor travels back along the neutral. These currents are equal and opposite, so they cancel each other out - so therefore you you have no manetic field left to measure!!!

So, to measure current with clamp meter, you must clamp aroung either the phase or neutral only!!! Clamping aroung flat twin and earth or a kettle lead will give you zero every time.

A good place to try this would be the cables from your electricity supply meter to your consumer unit (providing you can do this safely)