Discuss commerical and industrial railway systems in the Commercial Electrical Advice area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

G

galvin

Hi I am working on railway electrical equipment high and low voltage. I am a plumber and demestic electrian i need to up my game. If someone could tell me where to get good info or book titles to help me maintain.

David

Worked for a few years as a signal technician on the railways all i can say it is a completely different ball game.

I don't know how you got on site, railway work was special training (even for a qualified spark) safety passport and exam, 2 days and induction 1/2 day, then permit to work knowledge even if a whistle man...but hey nowadays so long as you have part p, nuclear power stations are easy peasy

Quite a few years ago I used to work in the rail industry as a service engineer. Minimum was a PTS (Personal Track Safety - 2 Day course) to go trackside. On top of that numerous safety critical exams to be passed. Took over 2 years to be deemed competant in some areas of train maintenance. am pretty sure it is still the same now.....Used to pay well back then as well !!!

Hi I have been on railway five years pts , coss , picow , level c level b high voltage subs
pt 1&2 and testing inspection. Iam a plumber and gas safe,
trained in signal power supply signet , ups power supplies , sn&t signal equipment maintainer .
I wanted to know more about other high power supplies other then 33kv outside the railway , edf high voltage equipment .
very sorry for bothering you

Hi I have been on railway five years

Galvin, your original post couldn't be more different from your previous!
How would you respond if someone had posted that they were a plumber and domestic electrician but were working on HV railway systems and wanted a book on the subject?