Discuss Communal heating bonding in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

R

ryan24

Hi all,
need to do main bonding in a flat that has none at the minute. It is on communal heating and the hot water has two entry points. Also the heating pipes enter the flat in numerous positions in the rooms and leave to feed other flats. My question is do all these need bonding? Thanks in advance (forgive me I'm still learning )

yes the reading is below 0.02. Going to be next to impossible to bond every single pipe as each room has two incoming pipes to supply each rad which feed upstairs and downstairs aswell etc.

Main bonding in multiple occupancy buildings can be complex, especially if the services are shared between the flats.
Ideally all extraneous conductive parts should be bonded within each property. Each property having an earth marshaling terminal that will connect back to the MET at origin.

In your case the situation is complicated by the heating arrangement, however it is relevant to consider if the part is capable of introducing a different potential into the flat. Because upper floor flats will not be connected to earth it is only the introduction of differing potentials from other flats that are of concern.

I would have though that it would be best to check the bonding of the heating system at origin and consider the continuity of the heating system and the maintenance arrangements for the flats.