Discuss Difficult Service head in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

L

Lorzor

Hello all,

I've recently put a new circuit in a house and when filling out my EIC, I needed to access the service head (attached).

I'm relatively new to this and I'm struggling here.

In order to access ANY part of this, you have to pull the main fuse and I had to cut a few metal tallys off. As you can see on the left is where the main fuse sits, to the right there is a cover for the MET and underneath is a cover for the incoming cables. The black box between the meter and thefuse housing is not removable - I can't see where the main earth is. The earth cable you can see is bonding from the gas pipe.

Also, immediately I thought it was a TNS system but it gets quite strange. The what looks like SWA is not SWA, it looks and feels like copper!! IT DEFINITELY isn't steel. Additionally, I can't find a neutral anywhere, I can't see if it is in with the red incoming wire but I'd be pretty surprised if it was.

Could the copper SWA (I know) actually be the PME neutral and we are actually looking at a TNCS system here?

Either way, I have never seen anything like this cable before.

Thanks in advance, I genuinely don't know if I'm just being stupid or inexperienced here but I'm kinda stuck with a way ahead.

View attachment 35655

View attachment 35656

View attachment 35657

Don't think you should have opened that. But if you do, I would personally turn the isolator off first so there is no load on the service head fuse, less chance of arcing.

<Deleted because I was wrong>

But why did you need to open it exactly?

Last edited:
Ooh err missus. I hope it was the seal fairy and fuse wizard that took that apart. You really should not even be in there, at all.

To absolutely confirm the supply type you need to contact SWEB (good luck). It looks like TNC-S but it could be a DIY effort and the supply type was originally TT.