Discuss Do any sparks do underfloor heating? in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

N

Nicebloke

Just had a call to give someone a quote for dry underfloor heating which I declined as I haven't done it before and I'm sure it's within my capability to do it but I wouldn't quote for something I have no experience of.

Just curious if other electricians do dry underfloor heating?

I do the electrics but get the tiler to lay the mat!
Chicken!!

I hate the mats. I much rather do the separate wire type.

But as above, its just a matter of good planning. If I can i install two probes (one as a spare) or make very sure the probe conduit works properly.

Its a pain if the probe fails and its all tiled in......

Did some DIY, ten years ago and it's still working. My spark even tidied up the wiring by putting in FCU eight years ago. :oops: I don't mind tiling either so long as the surface is level :D

Yep, it's no problem. As has been said, assess output required, allow for under mat/wire insulation if going onto a solid floor etc. I always measure the insulation resistance of the mat prior to the tiles being laid and after - that way there is no argument if the tiler damages the cables:)

Yep, it's no problem. As has been said, assess output required, allow for under mat/wire insulation if going onto a solid floor etc. I always measure the insulation resistance of the mat prior to the tiles being laid and after - that way there is no argument if the tiler damages the cables:)

That's generally in the manufacturers instructions as well as measuring the resistance of the sensing probe wires. :)