Discuss Do business cards work? in the Business Related area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Paul.M

-
Esteemed
Supporter
Reaction score
Due to the lack of consistent work coming in from normal contacts I'm going to have a push at advertising myself. I'm thinking of handing out my card to family and friends to pass onto anyone that mentions electrical work, leave some with the pub landlord, pin some up in the wholesalers etc. My question is, how much business do you lot get from this type of advertising?

I'm also thinking of getting some leaflets printed up to put in local shop windows advertising the fact that I'm a very local electrician with reasonable prices that I may give examples of? Is it a good idea to post leaflets through peoples doors? I normally throw them in the recycle bin so as I get one.

What about a 4 week small advert in the local newspaper? Apart from getting loads of calls from other advertising companies, what response should I expect?

Do any of our members use Vista print or is it worth spending a bit more and designing cards & leaflets face to face with a local firm?

Any input good or bad is appreciated.

I've used Vista print, not the cheapest but I do rate their quality, I particularly like the online design facility (once you've got used to it). Got business cards and rack cards from them - the rack cards I use when doing leafleting, yes they cost, but people round here keep them I get calls months after delivering them. So far the rack cards have paid for themselves many times over.

As for local shop windows, I've found to be a bit of a waste of money, I did about 9 shops locally for 6 months but only got work from one shop display - and today placed an advert again in said shop for 6 months.