Discuss Do I need to be with an approved body? in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

daveb

-
Reaction score
Hi All,

Been self employed running my limited company since May. Am away to start doing some sub contract work for a bathroom installed, and they have asked me to let them know which approved body I am with because I am doing electrical testing?

Correct me if I am wrong, but unless you are doing new builds, extensions or EICR's - you dont need to be with an approved body. As long as I am an electrician and 17th edition, I can test and issue my own certificates.

I am based in Scotland.

They are with Select, so I would assume that they would supply me with their Select test sheets and I would use them.

Thanks

I didn't think Part P applied in Scotland. but yeah you still obviously need to test and cert your work.

Yep you're correct.

and you don't need to be with a scam to perform testing, either.

and you don't need to be with a scam to perform testing, either.

it is a complete scam isn't it? I looked at joining NICEIC because Select want me to go for my approved electrician first wheres NIC dont. However, both schemes are still about an £800 outlay - thats £400 to join and £400 membership! I can't afford that right now and am not too bothered about working on new builds anyway.... much better types of work out there.

yes you are right - doesn't apply in Scotland so technically I'm correct in what I am saying??
Not necessarily. Just because Part P of the Building Regulations in England & Wales does not apply in Scotland does not mean that there isn't something else which requires registration.

How does the Building Warrant system operate?

Reply to Do I need to be with an approved body? in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Similar Threads

I am currently going self employed. I was never put through any 18th edition courses, so have booked myself onto my 18th wiring regs. I want...
Replies
Views