Posting a message to the forum will remove the above advertisement

Discuss Do you need an earth rod for an outbuilding? in the Electrical Wiring, Theories and Regulations area at ElectrciansForums.co.uk.

Please make sure you checkout our forum sponsors, many do discounts for members and, they keep the forum free to use.
  1. Josh95
    Offline

    Josh95 EF Member

    Location:
    Birmingham
    Do i need an earth rod if i am running a supply to a shed/outbuilding ?

    The incoming supply to the house is tnc-s
     
  2. Rpa07
    Offline

    Rpa07 2000 posts - only 46379 behind Telectrix! Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    Bristol
    Business Name:
    Ebenezer electrical
    All due respect josh, this is one if not the most talked about subject and the answer is definitely in previous posts. All good information. Search the forum with the search button and then use the similar threads underneath the page as you scroll down.
    See you in a couple of weeks! (that's how many there are)
    You will find the answer but people will also pipe up. Cheers, Rob
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. Vortigern
    Offline

    Vortigern Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    England
    Business Name:
    F.H. Electrical
    Search for Exporting PME on this forum and it gives you the various alternatives for supply to garage. TT system is one option and to me makes the most sense but there are other ways.
     
  4. Pat H
    Offline

    Pat H Don't ask, get an Electrician in.

    Location:
    Ware Herts
    Business Name:
    Sparks of Intelligence
    Of course the top hit if you search "Exporting PME" will be this Topic :)
     
  5. Last plumber
    Offline

    Last plumber Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    Lancashire
    Read the ' garage earth ' thread, that's still ongoing kind of !
    If you spoke to 50 sparks, 25 will tell you one thing and the other 25 will tell you the another.
    Then they'll argue amongst themselves a while whilst you have a brew.
     
    • Like Like x 4
  6. Taylortwocities
    Offline

    Taylortwocities Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    • Like Like x 1
  7. bigspark17
    Offline

    bigspark17 Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    wales
    So much more info required josh!
     
  8. Pat H
    Offline

    Pat H Don't ask, get an Electrician in.

    Location:
    Ware Herts
    Business Name:
    Sparks of Intelligence
    Don't forget Josh there often isn't a right answer. The regulations often don't prescribe exact methods. They detail what you must do and what you mustn't do. But it also states that you can use alternative solutions as long as they provide equivalent or better safety to the suggested solutions.
    As long as you aren't breaching a regulation (or doing so without a supported method to demonstrate your approach is safer, better etc) then the finer detail is just about choice and preference.
    The best you can do is gather all the views. Check the regs yourself and come to your own solution. It won't be the solution everyone would chose but as long as its compliant and safe you are ok.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. tony mc
    Offline

    tony mc Electrician's Arms

  10. Josh95
    Offline

    Josh95 EF Member

    Location:
    Birmingham
    seems like a bit of a grey area.
     
  11. Vortigern
    Offline

    Vortigern Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    England
    Business Name:
    F.H. Electrical
    Well essentially normally DNO's dont like extending PME to garages, outhouses. That is why A TT system is used. For instance if you asked your DNO would they guarantee their PME in your garage at say 20m away see what they say. Might be a good starting point for how you are gonna go about it?
     
  12. Pat H
    Offline

    Pat H Don't ask, get an Electrician in.

    Location:
    Ware Herts
    Business Name:
    Sparks of Intelligence
    But surely some large houses will have runs greater than 20 mtrs? I know of some houses fed from one single phase supply with very long runs internally.
    And for a garage using heavy SWA with its earth (larger than T&E CPC) surely you'd have as good if not better than a large house would have.
     
  13. bigspark17
    Offline

    bigspark17 Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    wales
    And maybe 5 would understand why their doing it which way!
     
    • Like Like x 3
  14. bigspark17
    Offline

    bigspark17 Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    wales
    Not really a grey area atall, why dont you give us more info and tell us how you intend to do it and youll may get more advice.
     
  15. westward10
    Offline

    westward10 In echoed steps I walk across an empty dream. Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    Northamptonshire
    And the band played on.
     
    • Like Like x 1
Loading...
Similar Threads - need earth outbuilding Forum Date
Pete's Videos Earth Fault Loop Impedance, who needs it? Electrical Forum Feb 15, 2017
Pete's Videos All you need to know about fitting an earth rod Electrical Forum Feb 12, 2017
Earth/neutral fault. need advice Commercial Electrical Talk Dec 30, 2016
Need some advice please New Member Introductions 25 minutes ago
Pyro meter tails, can they stay or need replacing? DIY Electrical Forum Friday at 6:50 PM
Split Charge system fitting help badly needed Auto Electrician Forum Thursday at 5:00 PM

Share This Page

Users found this page by searching for:

  1. do i need a earth rod

  • Electricians Directory Post a Domestic Job Post a Commercial Job