Discuss Do you need an earth rod for an outbuilding? in the Electrical Wiring, Theories and Regulations area at ElectrciansForums.co.uk.

Please make sure you checkout our forum sponsors, many do discounts for members and, they keep the forum free to use.
  1. Josh95
    Offline

    Josh95 EF Member

    Location:
    Birmingham
    Do i need an earth rod if i am running a supply to a shed/outbuilding ?

    The incoming supply to the house is tnc-s
     
  2. Rpa07
    Offline

    Rpa07 1000 posts only 44653 behind Telectrix! Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    Bristol
    Business Name:
    Ebenezer electrical
    All due respect josh, this is one if not the most talked about subject and the answer is definitely in previous posts. All good information. Search the forum with the search button and then use the similar threads underneath the page as you scroll down.
    See you in a couple of weeks! (that's how many there are)
    You will find the answer but people will also pipe up. Cheers, Rob
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. Vortigern
    Offline

    Vortigern Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    England
    Business Name:
    F.H. Electrical
    Search for Exporting PME on this forum and it gives you the various alternatives for supply to garage. TT system is one option and to me makes the most sense but there are other ways.
     
  4. Pat H
    Offline

    Pat H Don't ask, get an Electrician in.

    Location:
    Ware Herts
    Business Name:
    Sparks of Intelligence
    Of course the top hit if you search "Exporting PME" will be this Topic :)
     
  5. Last plumber
    Offline

    Last plumber Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    Lancashire
    Read the ' garage earth ' thread, that's still ongoing kind of !
    If you spoke to 50 sparks, 25 will tell you one thing and the other 25 will tell you the another.
    Then they'll argue amongst themselves a while whilst you have a brew.
     
    • Like Like x 4
  6. Taylortwocities
    Offline

    Taylortwocities Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    • Like Like x 1
  7. bigspark17
    Offline

    bigspark17 Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    wales
    So much more info required josh!
     
  8. Pat H
    Offline

    Pat H Don't ask, get an Electrician in.

    Location:
    Ware Herts
    Business Name:
    Sparks of Intelligence
    Don't forget Josh there often isn't a right answer. The regulations often don't prescribe exact methods. They detail what you must do and what you mustn't do. But it also states that you can use alternative solutions as long as they provide equivalent or better safety to the suggested solutions.
    As long as you aren't breaching a regulation (or doing so without a supported method to demonstrate your approach is safer, better etc) then the finer detail is just about choice and preference.
    The best you can do is gather all the views. Check the regs yourself and come to your own solution. It won't be the solution everyone would chose but as long as its compliant and safe you are ok.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. tony mc
    Offline

    tony mc Electrician's Arms

  10. Josh95
    Offline

    Josh95 EF Member

    Location:
    Birmingham
    seems like a bit of a grey area.
     
  11. Vortigern
    Offline

    Vortigern Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    England
    Business Name:
    F.H. Electrical
    Well essentially normally DNO's dont like extending PME to garages, outhouses. That is why A TT system is used. For instance if you asked your DNO would they guarantee their PME in your garage at say 20m away see what they say. Might be a good starting point for how you are gonna go about it?
     
  12. Pat H
    Offline

    Pat H Don't ask, get an Electrician in.

    Location:
    Ware Herts
    Business Name:
    Sparks of Intelligence
    But surely some large houses will have runs greater than 20 mtrs? I know of some houses fed from one single phase supply with very long runs internally.
    And for a garage using heavy SWA with its earth (larger than T&E CPC) surely you'd have as good if not better than a large house would have.
     
  13. bigspark17
    Offline

    bigspark17 Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    wales
    And maybe 5 would understand why their doing it which way!
     
    • Like Like x 3
  14. bigspark17
    Offline

    bigspark17 Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    wales
    Not really a grey area atall, why dont you give us more info and tell us how you intend to do it and youll may get more advice.
     
  15. westward10
    Offline

    westward10 Sponsored by failure. Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    Northamptonshire
    And the band played on.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  16. Josh95
    Offline

    Josh95 EF Member

    Location:
    Birmingham
    Fed from a spur on an existing ring in the house with a 2.5mm 3 core swa running to the shed (about 10m away from the house). Im going to put a small consumer unit inside the shed with an rcd in with a 6a mcb for a few light & a 16a mcb to feed 2 double sockets.

    The house is tnc-s.

    Josh
     
  17. westward10
    Offline

    westward10 Sponsored by failure. Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    Northamptonshire
    So you will have a 16A for the sockets and a 13A at the FCU.
     
  18. Josh95
    Offline

    Josh95 EF Member

    Location:
    Birmingham
    Fed from a spur on an existing ring in the house with a 2.5mm 3 core swa running to the shed (about 10m away from the house). Im going to put a small consumer unit inside the shed with an rcd in with a 6a mcb for a few light & a 16a mcb to feed 2 double sockets.

    The house is tnc-s.

    Josh
     
  19. Josh95
    Offline

    Josh95 EF Member

    Location:
    Birmingham
    Fed from a spur on an existing ring inside the house with a 2.5mm 3core swa running to the shed (10m from the house). A small garage consumer unit in the shed with an rcd, a 6a mcb for 3 lights & a 16a mcb to feed 2 double sockets.

    The house is tnc-s

    Josh
     
  20. Josh95
    Offline

    Josh95 EF Member

    Location:
    Birmingham
    Fed from a spur on an existing ring inside the house with a 2.5mm 3core swa running to the shed (10m from the house). A small garage consumer unit in the shed with an rcd, a 6a mcb for 3 lights & a 16a mcb to feed 2 double sockets.

    The house is tnc-s

    Josh
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - need earth rod Forum Date
Pete's Videos What a Dork, yes I know I need a hobby Electrical Forum Yesterday at 11:02 AM
Rcbo's tripping-some advice needed please Electrical Forum Sunday at 1:14 PM
Help needed on science questions! Electrical Course Trainees Only Thursday at 9:21 AM
Galaxy Dimension - Help needed Security Alarms, Door Entry and CCTV (Public) May 14, 2017
Career advice needed !!!!! Electrical Course Trainees Only May 11, 2017
Garage electrics help needed please Electrical Forum May 10, 2017
Help for Led Panels needed Lighting Forum May 9, 2017
Do you need experience to do an EICR? Electrical Forum May 7, 2017
RCD keeps tripping....Help needed. Electricians Chat - Off Topic Chat May 7, 2017
Test and inspection and certification experience needed manchester Electricians Looking for Work / Jobs May 7, 2017

Share This Page

Users found this page by searching for:

  1. do i need a earth rod

Electricians Directory Post a Domestic Job Post a Commercial Job