Domestic Supply ?

Discussion in 'Electrical Forum' started by Abruno, Jan 11, 2017.

Discuss Domestic Supply ? in the Electrical Forum area at ElectrciansForums.co.uk.

Please make sure you checkout our forum sponsors, many do discounts for members and, they keep the forum free to use.
  1. Abruno
    Offline

    Abruno Active EF Member

    Location:
    Hertfordshire UK
  2. Pete999
    Offline

    Pete999 Trusted Advisor

    Top Poster Of Month

    Location:
    Northampton
    Maybe the N is a solid link
     
  3. Abruno
    Offline

    Abruno Active EF Member

    Location:
    Hertfordshire UK
    Neutral has its own separate Terminal to the right of the four fuses?
     
  4. westward10
    Offline

    westward10 Sponsored by failure. Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    Northamptonshire
    The cable doesn't look big enough to be three phase, could have originally supplied four single phase, or that's all they had on the van 50 odd years ago.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. 7029 dave
    Offline

    7029 dave Trusted Advisor

    Location:
    bedfordshire
    IMO that could be 3 phase, but hey only 1phase tapped off, why do you ask.?
     
  6. sparksburnout
    Offline

    sparksburnout Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    Notts
    It is a bit odd. I have a 3P supply into my place, cable looks identical to be honest. Would the DNO supply 4 SP supplies with the common neutral block? Dunno, I would give them a ring, they are really good round here (WPD), I have the local teams number and they are only too happy to come out and have a look. They might even make you a nice bacon butty in their custom built kitchen/van. They have a nasty habit of leaving seals lying about as well.....
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. gutterball
    Offline

    gutterball Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    Fife
    Quite common around here. loop feed 1 supply to 4 adjoining houses. our old house was a semi with the loop to next door on our service head.
     
  8. Lucien Nunes
    Offline

    Lucien Nunes Mercury Arc Rectifier Trusted Advisor

    Location:
    London
    Cable could easily be 4c and yes looks like a relic of looped services. Probably too old to have been put in for electric wet CH, although if someone did request a TP+N supply for some reason (I've seen it in a house that was used for some kind of war work) the pup fuse might have been a looped service or to take the existing SP+N supply on a separate meter. Not ideal that the present supply is off the pup, IIRC UKPN limits them to 60A although that tends to assume there's also a service running on the parent. New S7 pups are limited to 30A max partnered with 60A.
     
  9. polo1
    Offline

    polo1 Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    Glasgow
    Business Name:
    GW Electrical & Security
    "Pup fuse" - can you explain L? Haven't heard the expression before. Cheers.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  10. gutterball
    Offline

    gutterball Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    Fife
  11. sparksburnout
    Offline

    sparksburnout Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    Notts
    Yes I am a bit confused as well Lucian, how it it looped if the fuses are not terminated? Or are they just using the I/C side of them to daisy chain the next one?
     
  12. westward10
    Offline

    westward10 Sponsored by failure. Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    Northamptonshire
    I assume the "pup" fuse is the left one as it seems to be an add on.
     
    Last edited: Jan 11, 2017
  13. 7029 dave
    Offline

    7029 dave Trusted Advisor

    Location:
    bedfordshire
    Yes, that's how I see it and have seen it, the DNO just leap off the phase to add one more.And it's always L1
     
  14. gutterball
    Offline

    gutterball Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    Fife
    • Like Like x 1
  15. Lucien Nunes
    Offline

    Lucien Nunes Mercury Arc Rectifier Trusted Advisor

    Location:
    London
    A pup is an additional fuse mounted next to the main one, fed from the second terminal on the incoming side via a U-link. The service cable termination in the main fuse has to carry the current for both.
     
    • Like Like x 4
  16. Pete999
    Offline

    Pete999 Trusted Advisor

    Top Poster Of Month

    Location:
    Northampton
    Thanks for that info Lucien.
     
  17. Abruno
    Offline

    Abruno Active EF Member

    Location:
    Hertfordshire UK
    Cheers for reply's. Yea its a strange set up and the house is a semi detached late 50's build. So gutterball you reckon its restricted to 60 amps? and what sort of work is involved to up the ampage? new head on supply or new cable from street :eek:£££
     
  18. DPG
    Offline

    DPG Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    S Yorkshire
    Do they need more than 60A?
     
  19. Abruno
    Offline

    Abruno Active EF Member

    Location:
    Hertfordshire UK
    Calculated max demands over 60A. But that's everything pretty much on, which is highly unlikely.
     
  20. gutterball
    Offline

    gutterball Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    Fife
    See here.
     
    • Like Like x 1
Loading...
Similar Threads - Domestic Supply Forum Date
Pete's Videos A domestic Installer's delight Electrical Forum Yesterday at 8:05 PM
PG Domestic Electrical Services Directory of Electricians in the UK May 19, 2017
PG Domestic Electrical Services Directory of Electricians in the UK May 19, 2017
PG Domestic Electrical Services Directory of Electricians in the UK May 19, 2017
Domestics testing in an old house Electrical Wiring, Theories and Regulations May 10, 2017
Domestic external light cabling suggestions please The Electricians Arms Apr 28, 2017
RS Electrical - new domestic installer in Peterborough New Member Introductions Apr 17, 2017
Limiting long cable runs for large domestic rewire Electrical Forum Apr 14, 2017
Domestic remodel - Sanity check on a couple of things Electrical Forum Apr 9, 2017
Which Circuit to put Extractor Fan for Oven (Domestic) on? DIY Electrical Forum Apr 3, 2017

Share This Page

Electricians Directory Post a Domestic Job Post a Commercial Job