Discuss Drawing requirements under the IEE Regulations in the Commercial Electrical Advice area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
I'm a Facilities Manager and not an electrician though I do have some electrical qualifications of some years ago. I wonder if anyone would like to give their views on the requirements if any, for the retention, updating and provision of electrical drawings requirements for inspection and testing purposes as required under IEE Wiring Regulations. This in respect of commercial installations. My copy of the IEE Wiring Regulations, albeit only seventeenth edition incorporating amendment 1:2011 has references within regulations as follows:

132.13 Documentation for the electrical installation.

Every electrical installation shall be provided with appropriate documentation, including that required by Regulation 514.9, part 6 and where applicable part 7.

514.9 Diagrams and documentation

514.9.1 A legible diagram, chart or table or equivalent form of information shall be provided indicating in particular:

I. The type and composition of each circuit (points of utilisation served, number and size of conductors, type of wiring), and

II. The method used for compliance with regulation 410.3.2, and

III. The information necessary for the identification of each device performing the functions of protection, isolation and switching, and its location, and

IV. Any circuit or equivalent vulnerable to a typical test

For simple installations the foregoing information may be given in a schedule. A durable copy of the schedule relating to a distribution board shall be provided within or adjacent to each distribution board.

My copy of the IET Guidance note 3 Inspection and testing, IET Wiring Regulations BS 7671:2008 incorporating amendment 1:2011 also indicates the following:

3.6 Required information.