Discuss Earth or not to Earth that is the question? Metal table/floor lamps in the DIY Electrical Advice area at ElectriciansForums.net

N

NotASparks

Gentlemen i throw myself at your mercy and your knowledge in an attempt to get a professional and correct answer to a quandary i have regarding the earthing of metal lamps.

I have been asked to design & build a series of all metal electrical table and floor lamps. Building these lamps does not pose a problem but the correct way to wire them up does. I am not an electrician.

My thought is that they need to be earthed, and the best way to do so is using three-core cable as the lamp fitting will be conventional metal BC or like lamps fittings. I have been told two-core can be used but lack of knowledge or not i have my doubts. Could you please enlighten me?

Regards

Welcome to the forum, I have approved your thread in the general forum for a speedier response, when admin is next on line you may be given DIY access and thread relocated.

if the casing of the lamps/fittings is metal, then it must be earthed. however, if you are manufacturing these items, then the design must be approved and complyto relevant standards and probably need a CE marking. not a project to be taken on without a vast amount of capital behind you.

Last edited:
if the casing of the lamps/fittings is metal, then it must be earthed. however, if you are manufacturing these items, then the design must be approved and complyto relevant standards and probably need a CE marking. not a project to be taken on without a vast amount of capital behind you.

I thought it was possible to legally install hand-made items of electrical equipment, for example a hand-crafted bespoke wall light?

Thanks for your reply.
These lamps will be produced in small runs and would be retailed to the public.