Posting a message to the forum will remove the above advertisement

Discuss electric range cooker installation in the Electrical Forum area at ElectrciansForums.co.uk.

Please make sure you checkout our forum sponsors, many do discounts for members and, they keep the forum free to use.
  1. anna anna
    Offline

    anna anna EF Member

    Location:
    oxford
    Hi there
    i have a qestion about an electric range cooker installation and requirements. It looks like there are numerous possibilities??? which doesn't sound right, i have my family leaving with me and i cannot afford to take my chances.
    Ok, So I have a flavel from currys (mln10crs) , electric cooker 13.5 kw to be installed.

    which cable do i need? the lengh from the cooker to the fuse board is 9m , the cable would go in the wall and under the floor. how many amps do we need? what would be the size of the breaker?
    Sofar I've been given 3 possibilities: 1. leave the 6 mm cable, 2. change to 1 mm, 3. change to 16mm.
    I've done my math so possibly 59 amps in needed and 16 mm? Please help.

    thanks
     
  2. Pete999
    Offline

    Pete999 Trusted Advisor

    Location:
    Northampton
    You are intending to get this work done by a competent Electrician aren't you?
    The Electrician will discuss cable routing/sizing when he or she comes to survey the installation.
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Optimistic Optimistic x 1
  3. Ian1981
    Offline

    Ian1981 Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    North east
    6mm maybe adequate for cookers upto 15kw as diversity can be applied to cooker circuits
    First 10amps of the load + 30% of the remainder + 5 amps if there's a socket outlet incorporated in the cooker control unit.

    Not sure were you got 1mm from tho or did you mean 10mm?
     
  4. telectrix
    Offline

    telectrix Scouser and Proud of It Trusted Advisor

    Location:
    cheshire/staffordshire
    Business Name:
    Telectrix
    generally 6.0mm cable on a 32A breaker will suffice. the reason for this is that oven elements switch on/off frequently ( by their thermostats ) and the actual average current is a lot less than the kW rating would suggest. if the cooker is on a 6mm cable and a 32A breaker, the worst that can happen is tripping of the breaker. if that happens, you could then consider uprating cable and breaker, using this diversity, i'd estimate your current @ 25A ( assuming no socket outlet on cooker isolator.
     
  5. Leesparkykent
    Offline

    Leesparkykent You Rock Gmes Staff Member Trusted Advisor

    Location:
    Kent
    It's a case of RTFM:p

    IMG_0519.PNG
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. telectrix
    Offline

    telectrix Scouser and Proud of It Trusted Advisor

    Location:
    cheshire/staffordshire
    Business Name:
    Telectrix
    40A fuse? a bit pessimistic aren't they.
     
  7. Leesparkykent
    Offline

    Leesparkykent You Rock Gmes Staff Member Trusted Advisor

    Location:
    Kent
  8. Leesparkykent
    Offline

    Leesparkykent You Rock Gmes Staff Member Trusted Advisor

    Location:
    Kent
    like you said probably fine on a 32A breaker.
     
  9. Ian1981
    Offline

    Ian1981 Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    North east
    manufacturers covering their own backside perhaps by stating 40 amp fuse.
    Guess they've never heard of mcbs?
     
  10. anna anna
    Offline

    anna anna EF Member

    Location:
    oxford
    hi there, ys I.ve meant 10mm :)
     
  11. anna anna
    Offline

    anna anna EF Member

    Location:
    oxford
    hi there , so 6mm might be ok, but 10mm would be even better?? I would need to know :) my kitchen is in a full refurb stage so adding, removing or changing one more wire would be just fine.
     
  12. anna anna
    Offline

    anna anna EF Member

    Location:
    oxford
    I had three electritians and they had three different idea: 1. 6mm ok, 2. need to be change to 10mm 3. need to be changed to 16mm . hence my question
     
  13. telectrix
    Offline

    telectrix Scouser and Proud of It Trusted Advisor

    Location:
    cheshire/staffordshire
    Business Name:
    Telectrix
    if you are in the process of a major refurb., then now is the time to up the cable to 10mm if your electrician advises so. but as long as the 6mm cable is not derated by being in insulation, it's good for 47A, so my choice would be to get it tested to prove it's integrity, and if test proves OK, then leave it in, along with the 32A MCB, which could be uprated to a 40A if required.
     
  14. anna anna
    Offline

    anna anna EF Member

    Location:
    oxford
    Probably ?? I would rather have "surely"
     
  15. anna anna
    Offline

    anna anna EF Member

    Location:
    oxford
    sorry to be a pain. how is it possibly that 6 mm would be ok? the old cooker is much smaller, etc. So overall you are saying that 10 mm would be better? and one more question, please, are you an electrician? my apologies, if it seems rude though
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - electric range cooker Forum Date
Pete's Videos Strange Electrical language Electrical Forum Apr 23, 2017
Welcome orange to ElectriciansForums.co.uk The Electrician Talk Forum. New Member Introductions Sep 22, 2016
Domestic Install an electric shower in bungalow - price range Electrical Forum Jan 25, 2016
Professional Electrician Survey Electrical Forum Yesterday at 4:57 PM
Commercial Cumbria Electrician Looking for work Electricians Looking for Work / Jobs Yesterday at 3:00 PM
Career Advice For Electrician to Designer Electrical Forum Sunday at 6:06 PM

Share This Page

  • Electricians Directory Post a Domestic Job Post a Commercial Job