Discuss Electrical contractor stuck between right and Fire alarm contractor perspective in the Commercial Electrical Advice area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

S

Sam cook

Hello all

I'm new to this forum and have recently joined due to a lot of threads here have been quite interesting and many have very good answers from knowledgeable people.

I've been sparking for 12 years and spent my apprenticeship with my fathers electrical company. My appretership was quite harsh and a lot was expected due to being family and making a demonstration to the non family members of the company. Myself and brother upon my dads retirement have gone into partnership with a reputable Fire Alarm company. Now I've not got a lot of experience in fire alarm other then installing containment and cable but I'm learning slowly more about it.

Now I class myself as a electrical contractor first because that's what I've trained as. Now I had a job today which I struggle to appreciate.

I was given half a day to put a 230 volt unstitched fused spur and supply in for a door magnet which will be switched by a I/O from the existing Fire Alarm System Loop wiring. Now today was the first time I saw the job (Old People's Home) I looked for a power sauce/DB/Coming off existing Door Mags and doing away with the I/O. None of the above near say 30-40 Mtrs away. I spoke to the fire alarm chaps and said I need more then half a day to get a cable there i.e. By decorative pclipping or trunking and fire fixings. Metal containment would not have looked pleasing in the decoration of the corridors. I was instructed to use a lighting feed if possible which was viable.