Discuss Employability of overseas trained Electricians in the UK in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Y

yannick

Hi I am currently in my last year as an Apprentice Electrician in Germany. I really want to move to the UK and work there after my Exam. I realise I must get my Documents translated by UK Naric, pass the 17th Edition BS7671 Exam and hold a SJIB/JIB Card in order to be employable.

My question is if anyone has any personal experience in a simular situation or if there is anything else I can do to up my chances of employment to make up for my lack of experience? It seems all companies want at least 2 years of experience.

Also whats the best way to apply as I doubt applications from Germany will be taken seriously?

Yannick

Hello Yannick,
I was in a similar situation, but I wanted to leave the U.K! (I have, I'm in France)
Naric etc… Pain in the ---. I know people that studied under City and Guilds outside of the U.K (and europe) and were denied a J.I.B card, even with U.K recognised qualifications.
Difficult to say what naric will say your qualifications will be after 'translation', and how high the J.I.B will make you jump in order to get a card. The J.I.B will, at worst give you a white J.I.B card (general operative I think).
Companies will take you on with a white card, but maybe as an 'mate' possibly improver. As the chap above says, employment agencies are an option.
Good luck!

Reply to Employability of overseas trained Electricians in the UK in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Similar Threads

Hello all, First of all I apologise if this is in the wrong forum, I figured the general forum may be the best bet :) Thank you for taking...
Replies
Views
Looking for a bit of advice from the wider audience / those who may have done similar before. I entered the game a bit later / in a non...
Replies
Views