Discuss Extension lighting problem in the Lighting Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Gringoking88

-
DIY
Reaction score
Hi boys and girls,

Hoping you can advise me utilising some of your experience!

I have a 6a mcb on a circuit that is rcd protected feeding the ground floor lights along with lighting in an extension. Upon changing a bulb (within the extension) there was a flash and the mcb tripped. It was turned back on but none of the extension lights will now turn on, however the main house will and functions normally. I have been looking for where the extension lights are fed from but can't find it? How would you guys go about identifying the source of the problem? Would you use a set process?? If so what would it be? Sorry if this is a very silly question but I'm just learning lol.

Cheers,

Martin

Usually they would be fed from the nearest ceiling rose.So if you were putting a new bulb in presumably they were ok til you did that yes?

Last edited by a moderator:
Hi vortigern,

Thanks for the reply, yes they were fine till I changed the bulb. All the lights are downlights in the main house. So no ceiling rose, would they just be wired from a junction box at one of the existing lights and why would it suddenly stop when changing a bulb?

Thanks.

Is the bulb in some way defective. Normally an extension would take the feed from the nearest ceiling light. I assume there is a fault between live and neutral. I expect I would look at the bulb, lamp holder then the wiring in the rose. What position is the light i.e. the first or second ? I would then disconnect the supply cable to the extension and test out the cable. Assuming I did not find a loose connection at that point. This would identify the problem pretty fast.

If the lights are not working you may be missing the neutral.