Discuss Fairly making money by sub-contracting - New Business Startup in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

P

puffy

So far job-hunting sucks but I'm always trying. My background is really web development/programming and business but I love electrical installation with a passion but never seem to landed that job so I've decided to give the business side of me another go.

This post is no way advertising but rather to get your deep opinion on the subject.

I am building a website, an interactive one. It will no way, shape or form be similar to ratedpeople. I've used it, never liked it. So let us not discuss that business here. About the website/ mobile app:

1. User logs in
  2. User selects house type etc
  3. User tells us what needs to be doing etc
  4. Maybe pictures / video of the areas etc - this is important to the business

This business will solely sub-contract the job out and we would take 10% - 15% off the profit (when all expenses removed) would that be reasonable? The difficulty I face is that most jobs require an onsite quote. Since I know technology very will, I can use a beautiful app for tradesman. It has killer features where the sub-contractor would do the site visit and finalise the quote based on the customer price range. The customer will select their budget so we know for sure that he/she would give the go ahead once we stick to the price range or give them some wow factor if we go above their budget.

The trust relationship

Sub-contractors will know the actual cost of the project that's why we say the business will take 10% - 15% as we will process all transaction online and with handy technologies which you will use and those techs cost money. Is the percentage range fair?

About the business