Discuss flexible conduit, CAN YOU WIRE A HOUSE WITH IT? in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

V

vmgbarra

can I wire a house in flexible conduit and singles ?, as done in other parts of Europe, there does not seem to be any specific info in BS7671 or part P,

Let me explain further
I have 20 years experience uk trained ,i have done commercial and domestic but I have also pent a few years working in Europe and found that using a flexible conduit system gives you the abiliy to add extra circuts or switching without having to rip up floors, I hate twin and earth its nasty out of date and too rigid, especially when trying to screw back sockes

can anyone offer me any recomendations etc

Steel conduit is a world apart from the cheap nd nasty flexible conduit that seems to be popular at the moment.

I guess if you used a good strong flexible conduit you could do it, but I don't really see the advantage?

If you're talking about that god awful ribbed flexible conduit, then i wish you luck trying to pull additional cables in at a future date. The walls of that stuff just collapses, especially at the any bends!! BTW, you don't have to use T&E, you can use the same type of round building cable they use in Europe, better actually as the CPC will be the same size as the phase conductors.

Unless it's steel conduit, it would have to be the double insulated singles like used on lighting in many homes. As I'm sure cables have to be double insulated unless protected by steel conduit. But probably wrong lol

Unless it's steel conduit, it would have to be the double insulated singles like used on lighting in many homes. As I'm sure cables have to be double insulated unless protected by steel conduit. But probably wrong lol

Consider yourself very ''Wrong'' then!! lol!!

Last edited by a moderator: