Discuss Fuseboard upgrade. Surveying / condition reports and testing. in the Electrical Wiring, Theories and Regulations area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Reaction score
Hi guys.

I wanted some advice.
I've been trading for almost 12 months and I'm still relatively new (and slow) at testing. And testing is the bit of the job I dread and lose time on.
I'm NIC EIC registered as a domestic installer. So I can't officially do condition reports yet.

I've noticed my competitors are charging a bit less than me to do board changes and I don't know if I am being too expensive, taking too long or my competitors are too cheap.

I charge a days labour plus materials. Usually I fit MK, AMD 3, 5+5 split load boards.
First I go in and test the installation as if it was an initial verification (I haven't come across a job with any previous certification yet), then I highlight any faults and relay this to the client to be put right before I carry out the board change and then repeat testing upon completion.
Previously to working for myself I never did any testing, I only did installation work. And practically all of my experience is in domestic properties.

Is it ok for me to just check a sample of the installation?
How do you guys go about board changes?

Sometimes I'll spend ages trying to get IR to >999M ohms, before I give up and write down the value I actually find. I know >1M ohms is acceptable but I always try to get it as high as possible disconnecting loads etc,
Also do you guys check R1 +R2 at every point or just a sample light at ceiling points?
Do you remove all lamps, disconnect boilers, cookers etc etc
Do you document which points you took your samples from?

I'm asking because I have just been to a job that has no earths on the lighting circuits, and the lighting circuits are not on an RCD either.