Discuss Galaxy Dimension - Help needed in the Security Alarms, Door Entry and CCTV (Public) area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Gigsy

-
Reaction score
Can anyone help me figure out how to wire a Galaxy Dimension alarm system.

I am studying to become an electrician and have been given the opportunity to learn how to wire an alarm system.

I am trying to figure it out from scraps of information.

I know these diagrams are not right yet, but would anyone look at them and help me figure it out?

I am working on an automatic gate, so far I am trying to get a PIR to open the gate, using a Galaxy Dimension main board and a RIO control board.

Galaxy Dimension - Help needed In progress SS - EletriciansForums.net Galaxy Dimension - Help needed print Galaxy Dimention - EletriciansForums.net

I'm not big on alarms and usually have to do a bit of reading, but it looks like it should work. The outputs to the relays... do you have more information about them?

If outputs 1 and 2 are sources, and they are pulled high to say 12v when they are active, then you might be advised to include some flyback protection diodes across the relay coils to avoid potential damage to the electronics when they are de-energised and the magnetic field collapses. This is particularly important if the outputs are transistor based.

If outputs 1 and 2 are sinks (i.e. they are effectively open circuit, but get connected to 0v when active - typically via an open collector transistor), then you'll need to connect the common for the relays to +12v and the same advice applies regarding flyback protection diodes.