Discuss Going beyond PAT testing in the Electrical Testing & PAT Testing Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Reaction score
I'm an employee of an electrical firm whose only service is PAT testing. Of course I have my 17th edition, Part P, both PAT test certificates and some other papers, you name it.
And no, it's not one of those "pay-to-slap" companies, on a good day I can test up to 150 items (in 9 to 10 hours) if there's no fail, just because I actually test and check every single item I come across; same thing goes for my colleagues.
Sometimes I come across things that, technically, go beyond PAT testing but they would make shiver any competent electrician (please, bear in mind that I was an electrician myself before being a full time PAT tester).
As an example, the other day I've found some sort of battery charger being used in zone 0 of a bathroom (yes, zone zero. That's correct. And no, it wasn't part of a SELV, just on a normal main ring socket), or a normal wall socket wired to the ring main, being used for a lawn mower for the back garden, despite that small chapter of the 17th called special locations.
My question is: as a PAT tester, am I allowed to point out these things to the clients? My company has no problem with that, but still I'm in doubt if I am allowed or not.
And before you ask yes, I do have the competence necessary to carry out those checks, the only bit I miss are the actual 2394 and 2395 papers, which I'm about to get.
EDIT: no, the company I work for is NOT forcing me to carry out checks that go beyond PAT testing. It's just me that I can't help it, if I notice something wrong I've got to notify it, no matter if it's not PAT testing related.