Discuss Have i wasted my time? Bolton/Manchester in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

B

Bolton-BL2

Im justwondering if I have wasted my time in deciding to retrain in the electricalindustry?
I have spentthe past 2 years going to college in the evening, first year EAL level 1,second year 2330 level 2. I will be starting back in September to do my level3.
I have been trying to find employment within the electrical industry now foraround 4/5 months with no luck at all. Ive sent letters/emailed most of thecompanies around Bolton, ive registered with pretty much all the agencies I canfind but still go nothing.
Everyone seems to want people with experience butunless people/companies give us new guys a chance how are we ever going to gainthe valuable experience we need. At 35 im a mature student but I am more thanhappy to start at the bottom and work my way up, I also don’t expect to be paida fortune either. Ive become friends with another bloke on the course who is ofa similar age and he is having exactly the same problem.

So I guessmy question is, am I doing something wrong? Is there any point in carrying onto level 3 if no one will give us newbies a chance?

Hi, to be quite honest with you it's hard to get a job nowadays. I've heard of experienced guys struggling to find anything but that was a couple of years back and things are improving slowly. You have to understand that your not gonna just walk into a job just because you have level 2. My advice would be to keep trying and if your ready to give up after just 4/5 months then maybe you weren't that committed on the first place? Also, it's experience that really lands you a job so just do all you can to try gather some experience, good luck, hope it works out for you!