Discuss Help pricing in the Business Related area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Gringoking88

-
DIY
Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm just starting out alone and want to do domestic only jobs, im initially going to focus on the smaller jobs as I also work full time elsewhere (the hope is I can eventually leave the "elsewhere") but still build up my profile and gain experience / confidence during my days off and holidays. Im finding it difficult if not impossible to know what to charge, do you guys / girls have a set price list you use or do you just calculate it based on an hourly rate, if hourly rate what is this averagely?

Im based in South West London and would really appreciate any help / advice you can offer.

Many thanks,

Martin

work out how much it costs to run the business. Van, tools, insurances, scam membership, tax etc. work out how much you need to live off. add the 2 together and divide by 12. That's how much you need to earn each month.

Your overheads per year will be about £6k plus buying a vehicle.

When you say you will be working else where is this as a spark? If not have got the relevant insurances in place?

Not sure that's helpful to the OP gutterball - he's just starting out and in a part-time scenario, he probably won't know how much tools, tax, memberships, books and so on are gonna cost? Ok, you might be able to predict to some degree (everyone needs BS7671, but does he need some of the guidance notes? Does he need an on-site guide? He might say no today and find tomorrow he needs them), but when everyone else was starting out how many times did they realise they didn't have the tools for a certain job and had to go invest in them? My uncle's been going 6 years and still finds (quite rarely I must add) the odd thing he doesn't have and has to go get it.