Discuss Help to start... college/apprenticeships in the Electrician Courses : Electrical Quals area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

C

Craigrathie

Hi folks

New to the forum world so apologies if I've done this wrong. I'm looking for some advice from some experienced tradesman!

I'm looking for a change of career and hope to eventually become a qualified electrician. I'm currently 30yrs old and I'm a tree surgeon (bored of it) and was hoping for some advice to move into this trade.
I have the full works... wife, kid, mortgage etc...
I don't think an apprenticeship is feasible due to the huge drop in money. Does anyone have any advice as to how I can do it differently? I've found a part time/home study course which would mean I'd eventually receive a
City & Guilds 2365 Diploma in Electrical Installation Level 2 & Level 3 (Buildings & Structures), probably over a few years but it would be around 5 grand! Hopefully worth it in the end!

Would this, plus my 17th Edition be a suitable path to take and help me find a job once qualified? Or are there better ways/courses?
I understand I have would have little 'work experience ' but I can't see any other way!

Thanks in advance folks

Welcome to the forum Craig - do some searching for other threads, welcome threads and advice threads as there is a miriad of useful stuff giving you exactly the answer that you are after.
Get a pen and paper, cup of tea and take some handy hints down. If you use a pc or laptop there are 'similar threads' at the bottom so go from 1 to another until you've exhausted or you are.
All the best