Discuss Help with Shed Wiring in the DIY Electrical Advice area at ElectriciansForums.net

M

madspark

I recently purchased my first house and have decided to re-instate the electrical supply out to the shed. I’m a maintenance technician offshore so I’m not very familiar with the regulations required for domestic installations.

Anyway previously there was a supply running off a 16A MCB in the house consumer unit out to the garden shed (all this fed was some lights). For protection outside the 2.5mm twin and earth cable run through plastic conduit attached to the garden wall. I have completely dismantled this.

All I need the supply for is some sockets in the shed and lighting, there will be nothing major running off the supply.

I intend to run a 6mm twin and earth cable from a 40A MCB in the consumer unit in the house (this only has MCB’s), outside (buried underground) and into the shed which contains a smaller consumer unit (40A RCD supply). Off this there will be 3 sockets and 2 lights on separate circuits. The total length of the cable will be around 20m with 10m of this being outside

The main issues are:

Do I need to notify anyone about the installation even though it is replacing an existing supply?

What would be suitable for protecting the cable outside?

I was planning to bury the cable underground. I understand from the regulations that this has to be at least 450mm underground with electrical warning tape. What type of conduit would be suitable? Would it have to be metal or could I use flexible such as kopex?

Also a lot of the modern shed consumer units contain a 63A RCD as the incomer. I only have a spare 40A MCB in the house consumer unit. Does this mean that I would need to upgrade the house consumer unit to use one of the modern shed consumer units as 63A is greater than 40A.