Discuss Hi Guys and Girls :o) in the The Welcome Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Are there any girl sparks in here??? If so, post more please!

We have a few hard working girl sparks and engineers here at Scottish Power now, all doing very well...

Hello Fellow Electrician Girls and Boys!

About me? Where do I start...

Served my time (sounds like a prison sentence, and in many ways it seemed like one) as an electrician at SSEB (now Scottish Power).

Worked for a while installing 'White Meter' storage heating as well as general contracting.

Then onto CT panel and HT metering. Worked on Street Lighting for longer than I wished, and as a Fitter for a while, maintenance of Sub-Stations. I also qualified as a Jointer up to 33kV.

After that went back to 'school' to learn Test and Inspection. I was an Inspector for many years until self certification came in, that was a few years ago eh?

After numerous posts since, including renewables and a stint at Dealain House, tutoring the 16th and 17th edition assessment, Test and Inspection and various other safety courses.

Trained as a Distribution and Supply Engineer.

I now work out of Scottish Power's corporate HQ in Glasgow as a Compliance Engineer.

P.S. I still occasionally don my green? overalls, dust off the cobwebs on my tools and go out on contracting jobs. Last job was a Retail Park in Port Glasgow, reeving, stripping, preparing and terminating 150mm SWA is not easy when it's freezing cold! The jointers blow torch came in very handy..

This short resume is by no means exhaustive.

Thanks for reading to the end! :eek:)

Welcome in Mrlights, sounds like you'll have a good bit on input to give.
Good to see the boy and the dog praying before bed. I'll imagine the food is part of the dogs prayers though!

Are there any girl sparks in here??? If so, post more please!

We have a few hard working girl sparks and engineers here at Scottish Power now, all doing very well...