Discuss Hi..New member..Help please... in the The Welcome Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Reaction score
Hi. Just joined after coming across this site and seeing more good advice on here in a few minutes than spending many many hours of searching the web..Great forum..I am a very keen DIY'r and an engineer by trade..

I am currently project managing and part building a conservatory..Before the new regs came out(many years ago) i installed sockets and lights into many conservatory..normally either spurring off the ring main or extending the ring main..Lights were always supplied from a fused spur off the ring main..

The thing I am struggling with is where to route the cables from the house into the conservatory.. previously I used to route through the conservatory cavity however I believe this is no longer acceptable.

Internally I will be using thermal blocks with plaster board dabbed on...Do I run the cables behind the skirts then vertical to each socket? Also should they run in flat or oval conduit or simply clipped to the wall?

I am also looking at 3 sets of lights, downlighters internally, centre ceiling light internally, also 4 x wall lights external,probably all LED.. I am also looking at installing electric underfloor heating which is less than 2kw.. Can all these be fed from the ring main?

I want to do as much of the work myself if I can..

Thanks in advance of any help.

Clipped to the block work or capping over cables are fine as the walls are getting dot n dabbed but please don't run cables behind skirting boards as they will be out of zone.
Underfloor heating would be fine off the ring if below 2kw but personally would try to keep the lighting on the existing lighting circuit only or perhaps a new circuit.