Discuss How to run electric to my shed. in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

L

Lee Duncan

Evening folks,
Im Lee and I am looking for some advice on how to run electric to my shed. I have been searching the net for help but there's been so many different answers its starting to confuse me. I have never tried this before but I am an experienced diy'er and will give anything ago once.

I will be using my shed to fix and build motorbikes so I will be using power tools. I'm wanting to have 3 strip lights and maybe 4 or 5 double sockets.
My shed is approximately 10ft from the back of the house, it would probably be 24ft from the main fuse box. ( main fuse box is located in the cupboard at the front door)

I know I'm going to have to dig a trench to run the wire from the main fuse box to the shed but not sure how deep plus the wire will be run underneath a path, will that be safe?

Can someone please tell me how to do this and what wire, fuse boxes etc etc i will need?

Any information would be a big help as I would like to give this a go myself instead of getting a sparky in.

What is there some kind of problem with that?I like to try and give everything a go instead of getting someone in to do it. If you don't try anything you'll never learn anything!!

No not putting them out of work there is plenty of work out there, I am asking for advice thought this would be the best place but by the sounds of it I was wrong. Weather it's here I get the advice or somewhere else I will get it and I will do it myself. Would rather ask the professionals how to do it than someone who doesn't have a clue but well well at least I might actually get the answers I'm looking for somewhere else.

I feel sorry for you, your acting like a wee child you can't even help someone who's asking for advice out, how petty are you!!!