Discuss Identifying Asbestos. in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

A

anfield84

Hi I was just wondering how one identify asbestos inside a wwall example old pplasterboard
apologies but I am new to this trade. Any help identify in asbestos wwould be appreciated

Hi Anfield84.

I've made your post into a new thread for you, the thread you tagged it on the end of was dormant for nearly 4 years.

Last edited:
Hi I was just wondering how one identify asbestos inside a wwall example old pplasterboard
apologies but I am new to this trade. Any help identify in asbestos wwould be appreciated

Best bet is to go onto the HSE website and type in asbestos - there's loads of info, photos etc there. If working on/in a building, you can ask to see their Asbestos Register. They must have one and must show you - how accurate it is, is another question!

Read the information Polo1 has mentioned above and always remember that it is not possible to tell what is asbestos by looking at it (though some items are fairly clearly very likely to be asbestos).
In general you need to know the likely history of asbestos use and the age of installation of a suspect item, this information is rarely available.
If there are items that you have a good belief may be asbestos then analysis of a sample is the only way to categorically identify the type and so the remedial actions that may need to be taken.
Also remember that there is a lot of asbestos still about in many many places.