Discuss Installation certificates in the Periodic Inspection Reporting & Certification area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hi I am a 45 year old electrician with 17th and 2392 and was registered with NIC domestic for 5 years I an now employed by a hotel chain for past 2 years and till now they have never done any testing only employ a firm to do periodics they are looking now to do some installation certs for the works we carry out can I do them as a compatant electrician they are not looking to register with a guv body or do I have to have 2391 can someone advise me please

Are you saying that the Hotel are planning to employ a 3rd party company to test and inspect installation work you are doing??. Your post isn't clear.

With it being a hotel chain, I would presume that it is classed as a commercial business. If so, any electrical work you do, does not fall under the scope of Part P. You still need to issue either an EIC or a MWC when you carry out any leccy work. You don't need to have 2391 for this BUT you must be competent.

Jay

As above. If the hotel is defined as commercial work, fill your boots in doing the work and completing the certs if you feel your are a "competently" qualified electrician! (minor works & elec installation certs). No need for a Part P scheme provider.

For the periodic (EICR) you dont have to have any quals, again just be "competent" -- its a slightly different competency required in the levels of experience and understanding you have from being a standard "electrician". The C&G2391 (or equivalent) is not required for inspecting, it justs adds a little more weight around your competency should anything arise for which you have inspected and signed-off!

Are you saying that the Hotel are planning to employ a 3rd party company to test and inspect installation work you are doing??. Your post isn't clear.