Discuss Installing A Freezer In The Garage? in the Electrical Appliances Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

M

mutley racers

Hi chaps, am in need of some advice. I have a garage that is fed from our main consumer unit with an RCB. The cable is 2.5mm and supplies sockets and the lights to the garage.

Am i able to plug a freezer into one of the sockets? Or will this draw too much energy when the lights and other sockets are in use?

Could i change the size of the cable to the garage to make this possible?

All help is muchly appreciated.

Oh, also, i will eventually have a Log cabin built at the bottom of the garden, and would like to have sockets and lights in there. This means having the cable run along the fence and into Cabin. What kind of cable would i need to use?

Thanks for all the help guys

I am a Plumber and found this forum through the Plumbing forum.

I think these sights are so helpful. It is awesome!!!

Hi chaps, am in need of some advice. I have a garage that is fed from our main consumer unit with an RCB. The cable is 2.5mm and supplies sockets and the lights to the garage.What is the size of the RCB (?) Think you may mean MCB

Am i able to plug a freezer into one of the sockets? Or will this draw too much energy when the lights and other sockets are in use? What do you plug into your sockets now and how many lights

Could i change the size of the cable to the garage to make this possible? Yes if you wish, but it maybe enough now, as to change the cable most likely mean a lot of upgrading on things

All help is muchly appreciated.

Oh, also, i will eventually have a Log cabin built at the bottom of the garden, and would like to have sockets and lights in there. This means having the cable run along the fence and into Cabin. What kind of cable would i need to use? I personally would use a Steel Wired Armour (SWA) cable, but if it is surface then Hi-Tuf is good

Thanks for all the help guys