Discuss Inverter In Transit Van. in the Auto Electrician Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

A

apprentice101

Hi I'm a qualified electrician but new to car electrics. Basicly want to do a mate a favour he needs to to run a 1200 watt 230v cement mixer for about 20 minutes at a time. So i've googled and you tubed and recon i'm nearly there. Im thinking connect the starter battery under the seat to a deep cycle battery in the back which will feed the inverter. I'll put some sort of solonoid switching arrangment between the batteries so that the starter battery will not be drained by the inverter but the inverter battery will be charged when the ignition and engine are on. So my questions are:
1 what sized battery to use to feed the inverter. Id like a fair bit of over capacity in the amp hour department for obvious reasons. Ive done the maths which would suggest i could get away with a 6 amp hour gel battery but that just seems too small.
2 what kind of solenoid switch would be suitable.
3 can he plug a 110v step down transformer into it for an electric drill or will that cause problems. I dont think it will but a mate who is a sparks seems convinced it will burn out the inverter. Cant explain to me why though lol.
Cheers john.