Discuss Keeping Horstmann 7 on all day? in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

M

Made135

Hi all, I have zero experience with boilers and timers so hoping I can clear up some confusion.
I have a Horstmann Electronic 7 with a simple digital interface controlling a Heatrae Sadia megaflo tank.
I need hot water at irregular and different times of the day throughout the week.
I can set it to timed boost setting and change the boost time. If I set on to 12am and off to 11:59pm, does this mean the boiler will be on all day all the time heating water? Or can it sense temperature in the tank and only boil whenever necessary to always maintain a tank of hot water?
Thanks in advance for your help.

Keeping Horstmann 7 on all day? 20170503_004141 - EletriciansForums.net

Keeping Horstmann 7 on all day? 20170503_004248 - EletriciansForums.net

Welcome to the Forum !
Just looking at the first pic - what happens if you set the slide switch to manual boost? (is it fixed at 1hour boost?)

If I set on to 12am and off to 11:59pm, does this mean the boiler will be on all day all the time heating water? Or can it sense temperature in the tank and only boil whenever necessary to always maintain a tank of hot water?

Hi,

The timed settings you specified should keep it on for 12 hours, but it will be turned on and off by the thermostat on the tank. This will keep it at the set temperature.

Thank you Wilko and saspm for the welcome and replies!
I'm baffled there's a Manual Boost setting as well as a Boost button. The Boost button starts a 1hr boost on demand and I'm not sure what the Manual Boost setting does, as it seems to do nothing. Is it just a setting to leave the unit on but requires me to 'manually' boost it on demand when necessary?