Discuss L-N Reverse On All Kitchen Sockets in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

atm-12

-
Reaction score
Hi, I am a newly qualified electrician and have a quick question. A friend asked me to take a look at a socket that was making an arcing noise after a water spillage so I went round to have a look. I ended up swapping the socket for a new one and this fixed the aching noise however when I checked it with my plug tester it showed a L-N reversed fault. I then checked other kitchen sockets and they also showed the same fault. He said it has been like this for the past 5 years and hasn't been a problem and I didn't have much time so we left it at that but I said I would look into it.

I guess that next step would be to check in the fuse board? First thing that comes to mind is that it could be connected up wrong in the fuse board, but if it is connected up correctly how would I go about finding the fault? It is an old flat with old electrics and there is probably many problems but I doubt my friend will want to spend the money.

Any general advice on what to do would be great. Thanks.

Edit - I was meant to tag this as domestic and not commercial.

Last edited:
Is it cabled in pyro or twin/singles? I have seen it a few times on pyro in flats where cables have been confused by a less than competant person. As for fault finding you may get lucky and find it in the CU but it could be in a JB hidden somewhere, in the back of any socket outlet and be prepared for it to take time to find

Check the other sockets in the flat, then check if it's had a meter change and whether it's wrong at the meter.