Discuss Lighting Circuit - Power at switch in the DIY Electrical Advice area at ElectriciansForums.net

D

Davejpic

Hi all,

Just a quick question if I may

I'm building mock circuits on an old desk to get a practical element to the theory I am studying (connected via 3 amp plug with RCD protection on supply)

I have been watching John Ward on YT ( John Ward - https://www.youtube.com/user/jjward ) and find him very informative without patronising you or digressing.

I have built a basic one lamp light circuit (non-rose) with power at the switch and used Wago connectors to provide the terminals in the box.

The circuit works as intended

Is this considered acceptable or is there another type of provision for terminals that I am not aware of?

https://1drv.ms/i/s!Aoh5tAd2uuvOgd8pPwHfqNogdwCUAQ

Any thoughts/comments welcome

Thanks!

20161116_225002.jpg

The 2nd Wago is to allow three connections so that power can be fed to the next fitting, I thought it better than trying to squish three cables into the terminal on the light switch.

is that a no-no?..

The 2nd Wago is to allow three connections so that power can be fed to the next fitting, I thought it better than trying to squish three cables into the terminal on the light switch.

is that a no-no?..

Why would you not feed the second light from the first light ?

I've realised a Mistake there after looking at it.

The Wago is supposed to be on the supply side, not the switched side.

I see that as it is at the moment i will be switching the supply to the next fitting.

Oops!

is that a no-no?..

Three cables - I can only see 2 and if you were feeding at the switch there would only be 2 cables, 1 in and 1 out - and adding extra "connections" is NEVER a good idea.

You would just need to do away with the brown wago and put the brown straight into the common, nothing wrong with 2 cables in the 1 terminal......

and use a deeper pattress, and sleeving on the cpc's, not tape.