Discuss lighting circuit in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

I

Industrial spark

Hi all. New to the forum so please go easy.
I am just about to start wiring a new kitchen under a building notice. Being an industrial electrician by trade I am not overly familiar with domestic lighting circuits and the normal setup when using twin/3 core cables. Could somebody please take a look at the attached diagram and let me know if this is how a domestic installer would set up a typical kitchen/dining room lighting circuit. Or is there an easier way to do things. 1 light in kitchen area and 2 way switches. 1 light in dining room on 2 way switches and 1 outdoor light. Plus heat/smoke detectors
Many thanks

20160925_101809.jpg

Nothing wrong in theory. Why not take heat and smoke from the ceiling rose? it'd mean one less wire chased in and in the switch. I have a rule of thumb where i use 35mm boxes when theres more than 4 or more cables. I also sometimes sink a deeper box if i expect a dimmer to be added.

Why are you using 1.5mm^2 cable? Assuming the circuit isn't going to be overly long in terms of Zs and volt drop, 1mm^2 would suffice and be easier to terminate.

it will work but you have made life difficult for yourself. It amazes me that industrial sparks think their on cloud 9 but cant seem to understanding a basic lighting circuit. Not having a go but just seems a bit silly.

Nothing wrong in theory. Why not take heat and smoke from the ceiling rose? it'd mean one less wire chased in and in the switch. I have a rule of thumb where i use 35mm boxes when theres more than 4 or more cables. I also sometimes sink a deeper box if i expect a dimmer to be added.
Hi thanks for your reply.
Not shown on the picture there is also a switch wire in the rose for that light which is in another room so would be a tight squeeze to get the feed for the smoke and heats from their. Loop in, loop out,switch, pendant and smoke?