Discuss Mains Voltage LED downlights, low voltage? in the Industrial Electrician Talk area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

B

BennyC

Hi,

Firstly hello! and secondly I hope this is the right sub-forum. I read the annoucement and this seemed the most suited.

I hope you don't mind, whilst I'm not an electrician, I have what is most likely a straight forward question I would appreciate some help with. I have a new build due to start soon of which I would like 'downlighters' fitted in. It's being built by a developer and whilst I have been in touch with the spark he is a bit hard to get hold of.

Initially I was happy to go for halogen until I realised how expensive they are to run and that there are LED fittings/LED bulbs available.

I'm a bit confused as what I read about halogens was that mains/240v didn't last particularly long and that LV/12 lasted longer and gave a better/brighter light. All well and good however I've now convinced myself that, despite the initial cost, LED is what I'm after.

I'm aware there are Low voltage LED bulbs in GU10 & MR16 fittings available to simply replace halogen bulbs.

I've also seen mains voltage fixtures:

Fire Rated Dimmable LED Downlight 7W =50W Chrome Warm White - Down Lights Direct

Edit: Also - http://www.fireratedlighting.co.uk/product-6w-led-fire-rated-down-light-warm-white-fr60610ssww.html

Does the LED fixture have a built in transformer to take it down to 12V? so in effect it is a low voltage fitting, just running off the mains with an internal transformer?