1. We've split off Commercial Electrician Talk and Industrial Electrician Talk from the main Electrical Forum. Please take note when you're looking for and posting new threads. :) 

    Checkout the new Electricians Directory which you can add your business details to for free.

    We've also teamed up with an insurance firm to offer you guys some discounted insurance. These guys will customise your insurance to fit your needs perfectly. Enquire using the following pages: VAN - FLEET - PROFESSIONAL INDEMNITY - OTHER TYPES OF INSURANCE.

    Dismiss Notice
  2. Checkout the new British Forums, register for free and enter the competition to win a £25 Amazon Voucher!

    Dismiss Notice

Discuss MK RCD Ramp test random results in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.co.uk.

  1. IMAC1959

    IMAC1959 New EF Member

    Location:
    Somerset
    Hi guys I am rather perplexed as I have recently fitted a dual RCD Sentry (App 3 compliant) consumer unit. I am suffering a random tripping pattern with one of the RCD's (63A, 30mA) which sometimes pops the other (80A 30mA) at the same time. I have stripped everything down and insulation resistance tested everything with the lowest reading being 80Mohm L-E and N-E. I also tested with the IR test between neutral bars to ensure I do not have crossed neutrals or some random connection between them. I decided to do a ramp test on both RCD's just to see what they are actually tripping at and was surprised to get random readings on a completely disconnected RCD of 6mA (multiple times) with an occasional 21mA. Both RCDs were similar so I changed both (Screwfix supplied) and they are the same. My tester is new and is a Kewtech KT63. As a matter of curiosity I ramp tested a BG RCD with the same tester in place of the MK ones and the ramp test was consistently 21mA.
    Any ideas guys?
    My next move is to fit the BG as a temporary test and then call MK Tech Support.
    Thanks!
     
  2. Advertisement


    to hide this advert.
  3. hotfingers

    hotfingers Regular EF Member

    Location:
    warrington
     
  4. hotfingers

    hotfingers Regular EF Member

    Location:
    warrington
    Is there any more rcd,s in the property wired in series? Some times this can trip both
     
  5. IMAC1959

    IMAC1959 New EF Member

    Location:
    Somerset
    Edit
    Forgot to mention our supply is TN-C-S in a rural setting, bulk of installation dates from 1988 when house constructed. Have noticed the lights flicker at times but so does the neighbours. A day or so ago there were two large fluctuations in our supply as confirmed by neighbour. Our RCD's both trippedf on largest dip and "tripiest" tripped on smaller dip. Tonight tripped randomly for no apparent reason, unplugged everything reset RCD and then started putting everything back on. Tripped again with PC plugged in so left unplugged then RCD tripped again. We are now all plugged in and RCD is happily carrying load.
     
  6. Advertisement


    to hide this advert.
  7. IMAC1959

    IMAC1959 New EF Member

    Location:
    Somerset
    There was a garage RCD unit with a 40A 30mA fitted but I replaced that with a switch and the was also an RCD prot cited socket which has been replaced with a normal twin socket. As the whole installation is covered by the two main RCD's I thought they were superfluous.
     
  8. wirepuller

    wirepuller Trusted Advisor

    Location:
    south uk
    Have you disconnected/unplugged equipment prior to your IR tests? If so test with everything in place, (not L-N !),you might find you get a different reading. test at 250v initially and see what shows. Also surge protector leads can cause tripping problems, if there are any of these in use try taking them out. Failing that you may be best advised to carry out earth leakage tests,although I do not possess an earth leakage clamp and have never found the need for one.
     
  9. Murdoch

    Murdoch Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    Woking
    Best get your earth clamp meter out and see what that says ..... I have one and in cases like this (and before CU changes) its worth its weight in gold!

    FYIW I would say you probably have leakage accumulated across a number of circuits and devices PLUS a fault to track down.
     
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2017
  10. DPG

    DPG Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    S Yorkshire
    Dodgy supply neutral?
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - RCD Ramp test Forum Date
Rcd not tripping and ramp test more than 30ma Industrial Electrician Talk Feb 20, 2016
7 x Memera 2000 80A 30mA RCD's required For Sale and Wanted Forum Wednesday at 12:09 PM
2 RCD's on circuit Electrical Wiring, Theories and Regulations Monday at 3:31 PM
GE RCD query Electrical Forum Jan 7, 2017
Zs tripping rcd Electrical Forum Dec 19, 2016