Posting a message to the forum will remove the above advertisement

Discuss MK RCD Ramp test random results in the Electrical Forum area at ElectrciansForums.co.uk.

Please make sure you checkout our forum sponsors, many do discounts for members and, they keep the forum free to use.
  1. IMAC1959
    Offline

    IMAC1959 New EF Member

    Location:
    Somerset
    Hi guys I am rather perplexed as I have recently fitted a dual RCD Sentry (App 3 compliant) consumer unit. I am suffering a random tripping pattern with one of the RCD's (63A, 30mA) which sometimes pops the other (80A 30mA) at the same time. I have stripped everything down and insulation resistance tested everything with the lowest reading being 80Mohm L-E and N-E. I also tested with the IR test between neutral bars to ensure I do not have crossed neutrals or some random connection between them. I decided to do a ramp test on both RCD's just to see what they are actually tripping at and was surprised to get random readings on a completely disconnected RCD of 6mA (multiple times) with an occasional 21mA. Both RCDs were similar so I changed both (Screwfix supplied) and they are the same. My tester is new and is a Kewtech KT63. As a matter of curiosity I ramp tested a BG RCD with the same tester in place of the MK ones and the ramp test was consistently 21mA.
    Any ideas guys?
    My next move is to fit the BG as a temporary test and then call MK Tech Support.
    Thanks!
     
  2. hotfingers
    Offline

    hotfingers Regular EF Member

    Location:
    warrington
     
  3. hotfingers
    Offline

    hotfingers Regular EF Member

    Location:
    warrington
    Is there any more rcd,s in the property wired in series? Some times this can trip both
     
  4. IMAC1959
    Offline

    IMAC1959 New EF Member

    Location:
    Somerset
    Edit
    Forgot to mention our supply is TN-C-S in a rural setting, bulk of installation dates from 1988 when house constructed. Have noticed the lights flicker at times but so does the neighbours. A day or so ago there were two large fluctuations in our supply as confirmed by neighbour. Our RCD's both trippedf on largest dip and "tripiest" tripped on smaller dip. Tonight tripped randomly for no apparent reason, unplugged everything reset RCD and then started putting everything back on. Tripped again with PC plugged in so left unplugged then RCD tripped again. We are now all plugged in and RCD is happily carrying load.
     
  5. IMAC1959
    Offline

    IMAC1959 New EF Member

    Location:
    Somerset
    There was a garage RCD unit with a 40A 30mA fitted but I replaced that with a switch and the was also an RCD prot cited socket which has been replaced with a normal twin socket. As the whole installation is covered by the two main RCD's I thought they were superfluous.
     
  6. wirepuller
    Offline

    wirepuller Trusted Advisor

    Location:
    south uk
    Have you disconnected/unplugged equipment prior to your IR tests? If so test with everything in place, (not L-N !),you might find you get a different reading. test at 250v initially and see what shows. Also surge protector leads can cause tripping problems, if there are any of these in use try taking them out. Failing that you may be best advised to carry out earth leakage tests,although I do not possess an earth leakage clamp and have never found the need for one.
     
  7. Murdoch
    Offline

    Murdoch Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    Woking
    Best get your earth clamp meter out and see what that says ..... I have one and in cases like this (and before CU changes) its worth its weight in gold!

    FYIW I would say you probably have leakage accumulated across a number of circuits and devices PLUS a fault to track down.
     
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2017
  8. DPG
    Offline

    DPG Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    S Yorkshire
    Dodgy supply neutral?
     
  9. IMAC1959
    Offline

    IMAC1959 New EF Member

    Location:
    Somerset
    Well since I posted my original post I have fitted the BG RCD and sent the "duff" one to MK who claim that it is ok. Interestingly the system has been stable since fitting the BG RCD of the same rating as the MK one.
    I have an Amecal ST-9810 Leakage Current Tester and have a total leakage of 13-15mA on the RCD circuits in question. This is 2 Ring Final's, 2 Cookers (3Kw each), Garage, Immersion & Kitchen Lights. If I turn off each mcb in turn I end up with approximately 8mA on one of the Rings. This ring has 2 Daikin Air Conditioners on it wired to FCU's on the ring.
    I am sure I could track down the leakage and get it closer to zero but clearly the leakage is nowhere near 30mA. I still suspect the low ramp tested RCD as 6mA is very low in my opinion.
    RCD testing is always done with all circuits off and neutral disconnected at respective neutral bar.
    When I get the tested RCD back from MK I will return it to my wholesaler and try a new one and ramp test that. Hopefully I will find one that is set higher than 6mA!
     
  10. Murdoch
    Offline

    Murdoch Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    Woking
    FWIW most RCD's seem to trip around 23mA .... 6mA is way too low!
     
    • Like Like x 1
Loading...
Similar Threads - Ramp test random Forum Date
Rcd not tripping and ramp test more than 30ma Industrial Electrician Talk Feb 20, 2016
Welcome trampintransit to ElectriciansForums.co.uk The Electrician Talk Forum. New Member Introductions Sep 27, 2016
Burnt out start capacitor on car ramp Auto Electrician Forum Apr 19, 2016
New sentencing rules set to ramp up safety fines Electrical Forum Feb 1, 2016
ACA - Approved Electricians Test Electrical Forum Wednesday at 10:16 PM
Minor Works testing advice Electrical Forum Jul 12, 2017

Share This Page

  • Electricians Directory Post a Domestic Job Post a Commercial Job