Discuss New Consumer Unit Installation - L&N Reverse at the sockets in the The Welcome Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

V

Vol

Hi there, I'm a newbie to the forum. I'm an ordinary senior citizen householder but while not an electrician, I do take notice and read up on all the stuff the electricians are doing in my house. I have just had a modern, metal consumer unit installed after the removal of the old traditional fuse box. The installation went pretty well with very few curses! :) Given the old wiring in the house, everyone was pleasantly surprised when both RCDs stayed good and the supply uninterrupted.
As a final check before leaving, the electrician inserted a socket tester. In every location tried, the socket tester showed L&N Reverse. I bought s socket tester and confirm the same readings: L&N Reverse. I haven't checked every single socket but that is the pattern.
One problem is that I have no way of telling if the old fuse box situation would have given the same L&N Reverse readings, ie did the electrician change anything or just carry on an existing (hidden) error?
Firstly, is this in any way a dangerous situation given the RCDs are quite happy? If dangerous, what should be done immediately?
Secondly, how could this reversal have occurred? The electrician simply reinserted the live and neutral cables appropriately as they were removed. The meter tails were changed cos the existing were only 16mm. Could the tails have been reversed somehow?
Anything else you guys can suggest?
Thanks for reading the newbie panic post! I would appreciate any input, thanks..

'Electrician' really should have known RCD's wouldn't cause a problem before he turned the installation back on. Sounds like not a lot of testing has been carried out here.

Would be interested to see the installation certificate (not likely I know). Was it Dave from the pub who fitted the new CU and whoever it was do they own the proper test equipment or was one of these used?

SOK22.jpg